Focus Scientific

RASC Free Public Star Party

The Ottawa Royal Astronomical Society proudly presents Free Family-Friendly Public Stargazing for 2019. Fun for all ages. Come out and share the wonders of the universe with knowledgeable astronomers. Ottawa and Gatineau area amateur astronomers will have their telescopes set up and trained on various astronomical treasures.

Stargazing runs from sunset to 12:30am.

Events are weather permitting.

New telescope owners: need help setting up? Please arrive one hour early.


Ottawa RASC Public Stargazing Schedule for 2019

Month Location Planned Date Rain Date 1 Rain Date 2 Rain Date 3
May Canadian Aviation and Space Museum
International Astronomy Day
Sat May 11
Carp Public Library / Diefenbunker Sat May 25 Fri May 31
June Carp Public Library / Diefenbunker Sat June 22 Fri June 28
July Canadian Aviation and Space Museum
Canada Day
Mon July 1
Carp Public Library / Diefenbunker Sat July 27 Fri Aug 2
August Carp Public Library / Diefenbunker Sat Aug 24 Fri Aug 30
September Carp Public Library / Diefenbunker Sat Sept 21 Sat Sept 27
AstroPontiac in Luskville Sat Sept 28
October Canadian Aviation and Space Museum Sat Oct 5
Carp Public Library / Diefenbunker Fri Oct 18

Carp Public Library / Diefenbunker

3911 Carp Road
Carp ON  K0A 1L0
Canada


Canadian Aviation and Space Museum

11 Aviation Parkway
Ottawa ON  K1K 2X5
Canada


AstroPontiac / Luskville

Luskville Falls Trail
Luskville QC  J0X 2G0
Canada


Recommended Items

  • Red LED flashlight - preserve night vision by using low-intensity red light. Red flashlights available through Focus Scientific.
  • Thermacell Mosquito Repellent - safe, reusable *DEET-free device to ward off mosquitoes. Available through Bushtakuh, Canadian Tire, Home Depot, Home Hardware and Walmart
  • If bringing a telescope, extra batteries for motor drives and finderscopes

* DEET can damage rubber, plastic, polymer fabrics and optical coatings. If using DEET-containing insect repellent, clean area around the eyes and hands with a wet cloth or moist towelette to prevent damage to telescopes.

Star Party Etiquette

  • No white flashlights
  • No flash photography, please turn off camera flash
  • Avoid running around the telescopes
  • Do not grab onto telescope eyepiece to prevent misaligning and shaking the scope view
  • Apply insect repellent in an area away from telescopes and vehicles
  • No loud music
  • No pets - Service animals exempted
  • Take out what you take in - no littering