Focus Scientific

RASC Free Public Star Party

The Ottawa Royal Astronomical Society proudly presents Free Family-Friendly Public Stargazing for 2018. Fun for all ages. Come out and share the wonders of the universe with knowledgeable astronomers. Ottawa and Gatineau area amateur astronomers will have their telescopes set up and trained on various astronomical treasures.

Stargazing runs from sunset to 12:30am.

Events are weather permitting.

New telescope owners: need help setting up? Please arrive one hour early.

Location

Ottawa Public Library
3911 Carp Road
Carp ON  K0A 1L0
Canada

Star parties are held in the parking lot at the Carp Library / Diefenbunker, a short 28 minute drive from Focus Scientific.


Ottawa RASC Public Stargazing Schedule for 2018

Month Planned Date Rain Date 1 Rain Date 2 Rain Date 3
May Fri May 11 Fri May 18 Sat May 19
June Fri June 8 Fri June 15 Sat June 16
July Fri July 13 Sat July 14 Fri July 20 Sat July 21
August Fri Aug 4 Fri Aug 17 Sat Aug 18
September Fri Sept 8 Fri Sept 14 Sat Sept 15
October Fri Oct 5 Sat Oct 6
November Fri Nov 9 Sat Nov 10 Fri Nov 16 Sat Nov 17


Recommended Items

  • Red LED flashlight - preserve night vision by using low-intensity red light. Red flashlights available through Focus Scientific.
  • Thermacell Mosquito Repellent - safe, reusable *DEET-free device to ward off mosquitoes. Available through Bushtakuh, Canadian Tire, Home Depot, Home Hardware and Walmart
  • If bringing a telescope, extra batteries for motor drives and finderscopes

* DEET can damage rubber, plastic, polymer fabrics and optical coatings. If using DEET-containing insect repellent, clean area around the eyes and hands with a wet cloth or moist towelette to prevent damage to telescopes.

Star Party Etiquette

  • No white flashlights
  • No flash photography, please turn off camera flash
  • Avoid running around the telescopes
  • Do not grab onto telescope eyepiece to prevent misaligning and shaking the scope view
  • Apply insect repellent in an area away from telescopes and vehicles
  • No loud music
  • No pets - Service animals exempted